4-H honorees strengthen worthy program

The Iowa 4-H Hall of Fame was established in 2002 as 4-H celebrated 100 years of a program dedicated to teaching youth life skills.

Every year, Iowa counties select inductees to be recognized for their contributions to 4-H.

Among inductees from north central Iowa are:

– John and Sandee Bonner, of Vincent;

– Marilyn Hundertmark, of Humboldt;

– Roberta Hersom, of Emmetsburg;

– Nancy Jenson, of Pocahontas;

– Pam Henderson, of Webster City;

– Dale Haugland, of Clarion and;

– the late Jamie Buenting, of Rockwell City.

According to the Iowa 4-H Foundation, inductees work tirelessly to see that Iowa’s youth have a great learning experience in a safe and fun environment and have modeled volunteerism, community service, integrity and leadership.

In many cases, those inducted into the Hall of Fame began their 4-H experience as youth, impacting the same lessons they learned on the next generation.

This life-long commitment to the worthy goals of 4-H is to be commended.

The Messenger heartily congratulates all 2014 Hall of Fame honorees.