CIML will remain intact for immediate future

The Central Iowa Metropolitan League, which is Iowa’s largest big-school activities conference, will remain at 19 teams for the immediate future.

At least eight schools had discussed earlier this week a possible move away from the CIML. But many of the schools involved backed off that suggestion Friday.

The Des Moines Public Schools announced in a news release that its five members – East, Hoover, North, Lincoln and Roosevelt – would remain in the CIML through at least the 2015-16 school year.

Marshalltown and Indianola also plan to stay in the CIML. The league requires members who leave to give a year’s notice, which was a deadline of Aug. 1.

There had been serious discussions among those five schools, plus Indianola, Marshalltown and Ottumwa, of forming their own eight-team league starting in 2015-16.

“We have athletic schedule contracts with all 19 schools within the CIML for the next two school years,” Des Moines Public Schools Chief of Schools Matt Smith said in a press release. “We intend to honor those.”

Smith added that the Des Moines schools would consider other options in the future but there was no timeline.

“We’re not going to rush anything,” Smith said.

One key reason for the decision for the CIML to remain intact is athletic schedules for conference events have already been scheduled through the 2015-16 school year.

The 11 schools that were not considering a split – Ames, Ankeny, Centennial, Dowling Catholic, Fort Dodge, Johnston, Mason City, Southeast Polk, Urbandale, Valley and Waukee – had plans in place in case the breakaway conference occurred.