SMCH honors its own

LAKE CITY – Stewart Memorial Community Hospital recently recognized its employees for their accomplishments during 2013 at its Rewards and Recognition Banquet.

The Florence Nightingale award was given to Kari Jones, director of nursing. The Auxiliary Shining Star award recipient was volunteer Toni Kerns. Danni Anderson, P.A.-C., was given the Rising Star award.

The Golden Pillar award, which is given to a department that exemplifies the standards of behavior at SMCH, was given to all of the departments that contribute to inpatient care, leading to SMCH receiving national recognition for high scores in patient satisfaction: nursing service, pharmacy, business office, maintenance, housekeeping, purchasing, lab, emergency service, nutrition services, physical therapy, and radiology. Dr. David Frate was awarded Physician of the Year. The Champion of Standards award, given to an individual who exemplifies the standards of behavior at SMCH, was given to Holly Wuebker, registered nurse, Homecare.

Recognition was also given to employees for reaching milestones.

Completing 40 years of service are Judy Hendricks, clinic business office; and Bob Dickkut, physical therapy.

Recognition for 35 years of employment goes to Luanne Redenius, CMA, June Urelius, nursing service unit secretary, and Maurine Thieszen, dietitian.

For 30 years of service the following are recognized: Carmen Ludwig, LPN; Deb Trost, finance; and Donna Westcott, clinic business.

In the 25 year category, SMCH honored Brenda Buss, business office; Lori Lasher, nursing service secretary; Jenni Macke, RN; Mel Alcox, EMT; and Deb Perepeluk, nursing assistant.

Kim Anderson, nutrition services; Cindy Blair, RN; Deb Daniel, pharmacy; Deb Harms, nutrition services; and Doreen Mohr, housekeeping were recognized for 20 years of service.

Completing 15 years of employment are Nancy Flink, P.A.-C.; and Leon Hendricks, emergency services.

Recognition for 10 years of employment went to Bob Arnold, physical therapy; and Perry Henely, anesthesia.

The final group to be honored was 5-year employees which include Renee Bronzynski, RN; Cindy Carstens, administration; Michael Case, nutrition services; Kimberly Conley, RN; Kay Crabb, physical therapy; Afton Daniel, radiology; Christi Fredericks, business office; Jenna Haye, pharmacy; Kari Jones, RN; Mary Ludwig, marketing; Marilyn Mumm, radiology; Michelle Pedersen, nursing service unit secretary; Jenny Roby, Homecare/hospice; Danelle Ruthart, Homecare/hospice; Kari Sharkey, Homecare/hospice; Michelle Shaver, social services; and Carmon Slininger, clinic nursing.

Bill Albright, vice president of Human Resources at Stewart Memorial Community Hospital said, “We are so proud to be able to pause and recognize our employees for the outstanding service they give to our patients and our organization.”