Tritons set for nationals

SPOKANE, Wash. – Nine members of the Iowa Central wrestling team will compete in the NJCAA Championships this weekend at the Spokane Convention Center.

First-round matches will begin this morning at 9:30 a.m. Championship finals are set for 6:45 p.m. Saturday night.

Nate Smith (125 pounds), Darrell Pampkin (133), St. Edmond graduate Teddie Harvey (141), former Clarion-Goldfield prep Marcus Peterson (149), third-ranked Richie Lewis (157), Ryan Niven (165), Jake Meehan (174), No. 12 Bryce Fisher (197) and sixth-ranked Malcolm Allen (285) will all take to the mat for the Tritons.

Smith will meet Jamestown’s Pat McCarthy in his opener, Harvey is paired against Tyler Hinton of Northwest Kansas Tech, Peterson faces Nassau’s No. 6 Alexis Blanco, Lewis will battle Tyler Ellwood from Iowa Lakes, Niven tackles Western Wyoming’s Damon Mele, Meehan will clash with ninth-ranked Cole McArthur of Northwest, and Fisher takes on Labette’s Dorian Spradlin, and

Both Pampkin and Smith will receive first-round byes.

Last year, Iowa Central placed fifth at nationals with 70.5 points. North Idaho and Labette tied for the team title (120).

From 2006 through 2010, the Tritons claimed five straight national crowns.