Area wrestlers advance to state

5 Lynx, 4 Bulldogs, 1 Wildcat on to state

WEBSTER CITY – It was a bittersweet day for the Webster City wrestling team on Saturday.

The Lynx pushed five wrestlers through to the state meet, but seniors Connor Larson (170) and Brandon Patten (182) were knocked out.

Larson, a three-time state qualifier and three-time North Central Conference champion, lost his semifinal match against Hampton-Dumont-s Grant Lehmann in overtime (6-4).

The seventh-ranked Lynx bounced back with fall (4:46) over Humboldt’s No. 5 Nikko Wheeler.

Larson didn’t get a chance to wrestle back for a true second.

Algona’s Tyler Frideres grabbed the championship, defeating Lehmann 1-0 in the finals. He knocked off Wheeler 9-7 in the semifinals.

Patten lost his semifinal match, before bouncing back with a win over Humboldt’s Adam Mickelson in the third place match. He didn’t get a wrestleback.

Tanner Hild (152) and Alex Oswald (160) won district titles to move on.

Hild earned a 6-5 decision over Algona’s Kory Kuecker in the finals. Kuecker then picked up a major decision to advance.

Eighth-ranked Oswald toppled Josh Strohman of Algona in the semifinals and then knocked off ninth-ranked Beau Sorenson of Forest City, 5-3 in the finals.

Freddie Seeley (120), Jacob Powers (145) and fourth-ranked Dylan Fielder (195) advanced as runner-ups.

Seeley lost to sixth-ranked Ryan Schmalen of Clear Lake in the semis and moved on with a 2-0 decision over Humboldt’s Zane Russell.

Powers lost in the championship match and advanced as a true second finisher.

Fourth-ranked Fielder had to injury default to No. 3 Reed Dreyer in the finals. He advanced without a wrestleback.

Fourth-ranked sophomore Gavin Dinsdale lost to second-ranked Tyler Putney of Forest City and had to injury default to fifth-ranked Dylan Hendricks of Humboldt in the third place match.

Along wither Frideres, second-ranked Joe Tague (182) and Austin Long (145) advanced as champions for Algona. Kuecker will compete as a runner-up.

Teague beat Mickelson in 1:04 and pinned connor Nosbisch of Clear Lake in 1:23 of the finals.

Long earned a 4:30 fall over Kenton Brekke of Ballard. He toppled Powers 6-5 in the finals.

Dreyer was the lone qualifier for Humboldt.

Zane Russell (120), Mike Madsen (138) and Hendricks (285) were the only Wildcats to have a chance to advance with wrestleback matches. The Wildcats went 1-for-8 in semifinal matches.

Hendricks was in a loaded 285-pound class with four ranked wrestlers, including No. 3 Mario Pena (Hampton-Dumont), No. 2 Tyler Putney (Forest City) and fourth-ranked Dinsdale.

Class 2A state action will start the state tournament on Thursday at 9 a.m. inside Wells Fargo Arena.

Webster City will compete in the state dual tournament on Wednesday in Des Moines. The Lynx (seventh-seed) will face No. 2 Davenport Assumption at 11 a.m.


Team Standings

1. Clear Lake 116; 2. Algona 88.5; 3. Webster City 87; 4. Hampton-Dumont 67; 5. Humboldt 57; 6. Ballard 41.5; 7. Forest City 40; 8. Roland-Story 20; 9. Iowa Falls-Alden 12; 10. Gilbert 11; 11. Garner-Hayfield/Ventura 10; 12. Nevada 9.

106 pounds

Championship: Brennen Doebel, Clear Lake pinned Dante Tacchia, IF-Alden, 1:23; Second place: Tacchia, IF-A advanced.

113 pounds

Championship: Ryan Leisure, Clear Lake major dec. Carter Barkeman, Hampton-Dumont; Second place: Barkema, H-D advanced.

120 pounds

Championship: Ryan Schmalen, Clear Lake dec. Freddie Seeley, Webster City, 6-2; Second place: Seeley, WC dec. Zane Russell, Humboldt, 2-0.

126 pounds

Championship: Parker Witthuhn, Roland-Story injury default Nathan Macki, Ballard, 4:00; Second place: Macki, Ballard advanced.

132 pounds

Championship: Mitchell Broer, Ballard dec. Ryan Faught, Clear Lake, 11-4; Second place: Faught, CL advanced.

138 pounds

Championship: Andres Gonzalez, Clear Lake dec. Max Lehman, Hampton-Dumont, 7-3; Second place: Wyatt Rhoads, Gilbert dec. Lehman, H-D, 5-2.

145 pounds

Championship: Austin Long, Algona dec. Jacob Powers, Webster City, 6-5; Second place: Powers, WC advanced.

152 pounds

Championship: Tanner Hild, Webster City dec. Kory Kuecker, Algona, 6-5; Second place: Kuecker, Algona major dec. Connor Shaw, Garner-Hayfield, 10-2.

160 pounds

Championship: Alex Oswald, Webster City dec. Beau Sorenson, Forest City, 5-3; Second place: Sorenson, Forest City, major dec. Josh Strohman, Algona, 8-0.

170 pounds

Championship: Tyler Frideres, Algona dec. Grant Lehman, Hamptom-Dumont, 1-0; Second place: Lehman, H-D advanced.

182 pounds

Championship: Joe Teague, Algona pinned Connor Nosbisch, Clear Lake, 1:23; Second place: Nosbisch, Clear Lake advanced.

195 pounds

Championship: Reed Dreyer, Humboldt injury defeault Dylan Fielder, Webster City; Second place: Fielder, Webster City advanced.

220 pounds

Championship: Kendrick Suntken, Hampton-Dumont dec. Alex Paulson, Forest city, 3-1; Second place: Alex Silberstein, Ballard dec. Alex Paulson, Forest City, 7-2.

285 pounds

Championship: Mario Pena, Hampton-Dumont dec. Tyler Putney, Forest City, 3-2; Second place: Putney, Forest City pinned Dylan Hendricks, Humboldt, 2:57.

Lundgren advances

SIBLEY – Emmetsburg’s Tanner Lundgren was the lone E-Hawk standing heading into districts and he’ll be the only representative at the state meet.

Lundgren won the 106-pound championship in the Class 1A district meet to advance to next week’s state meet.

The freshman pinned Woodbury Central’s Jordan Robinson in 1:21 of the semifinals.

Lundgren (27-16) advanced to state with 4-2 decision over Alta-Aurelia’s Skylar Solko in the finals.

Class 1A state action begins at 7 p.m. on Thursday inside Wells Fargo Arena.