FDSH?speech team qualifies six for state

Nine Fort Dodge Senior High groups, composed of 19 students, competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association District Large Group Speech Contest on Jan. 25.

Six of the groups received Division I ratings to advance to state. They were:

Solo Mime: Abee Armstrong; Readers Theater: Abee Armstrong, Natalie Dillon, James Curtis, Cayla Foltz and Annie Larid; Choral Reading: Madeline Ascherl and Jamila Shing-Hon; Musical Theater, Jamila Shing-Hon, Rhiannon Peterson, Emma Reeves and Hannah Lenning; Group Improvisation: Mackenzie Elsbecker and Tim Hatton; Group Improvisation, Cayla Foltz, Dalton Holdredge and Tristan Earnest.

In addition, the following groups received Division II ratings:

Group Improvisation: Brevin Gunn and James Curtis; Group Mime: Dalton Holdredge, Jennifer Curtis and Hanna Lara; Radio Broadcasting: Cate Hatton and Allyson Waychoff.

Lindey Krug, FDSH speech coach, said, “I was very pleased with how we performed at District. The teams did a great job and I hope the students came away from the experience proud of their accomplishments.”

Members of the six qualifying groups will compete at the state contest in Spencer on Saturday.