A Cappella Choir takes second place

Fort Dodge Senior High’s A Cappella Choir earned second place for best concert choir and the award for best tenor section at the 27th annual Onalaska Classic Choral Competition in Wisconsin.

The event drew more than 30 high school concert and show choirs from Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. Participating groups were judged by conductors, directors and clinicians from throughout the country. In addition to written comments and scores, each ensemble received a constructive clinic from the judges.

“I couldn’t be more proud of the way that our students represented themselves and our community,” Matt Drees, FDSH vocal instructor, said. “The trip and competitive environment awarded our students an opportunity to grow as musicians and performers while representing our community outside of Fort Dodge.”

Members of the A Cappella Choir include: Sarah Amhof, Emma Bruen, Jamie Harmon, Jazzmin Hughes, Hannah Lenning, Jamila Shing-Hon, Kelsey Albrecht, Maddie Ascherl, Lexi Astor, Natalie Dillon, Olivia Egli, Lilly McMahon, Chloee Narber, Hailee Richardson, Mackenzie Elsbecker, Tarrah Holdredge, Lilly Lenning, Taylor Shirbroun, Raelinn Spears, Tauni Sundermeyer, Elizabeth Thomas, Kaitlyn Wiseman, Rayni Bidleman, Tori Colemen, Kari Grindberg, Bekah Henkelman, Emily Knight, Erin Trunnell, Madeline Westerhoff, Sam Witte, Matt Delaney*, Jonah Egli*, Nick Pecka*, Devin Ulstad*, Jon Bowden*, Hankel Haldin*, Cain Junkman*, Brian Murman*, Isaac Poldervaart*, Joey Sande*, Tony Thompson*, Ben Ahlers, Orion Cook, Tim Hatton, Grant Hendrix, Alex Jackson, Jay Laupp, Cal Solverson, Austin Sorenson, Caleb Asay, Doug Glaman, Ethan Ledeboer, Rob Leigh, Steve Liao, Elias Netz, Chris Nichols and Nick Sanford. (* members of the tenor section).