New FD council to take office Thursday

Iowa Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Cady will administer the oath of office to newly elected and re-elected Fort Dodge officials during a Thursday morning ceremony.

The 2014 inauguration ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. in the Municipal Building, 819 First Ave. S.

The newly elected members of council who will be sworn in Thursday are Jeffrey Halter (at-large) and Dr. Terry Moehnke (Ward 1).

The re-elected officials are Mayor Matt Bemrich and councilmen Andy Fritz (at-large), Don Wilson (Ward 2), Dave Flattery (Ward 3) and Kim Alstott (Ward 4).

Councilman Dean Hill (at-large) is the only elected official who will not be taking the oath of office. His term doesn’t expire until the end of 2015.

The ceremony will begin with the presentation of the colors by members of the 133rd Test Squadron, an Iowa Air National Guard unit based in Fort Dodge.

Vickie Reeck, the city’s community development manager, will sing the national anthem and Jeff Nemmers, the city clerk and finance director, will lead the Pledge of Allegiance. The Rev. David Barton will provide the invocation.

Then Cady, of Fort Dodge, will administer the oath of office.

A reception will be held in the Municipal Building following the ceremony.

At 11 a.m. there will be an informal council assembly in the Municipal Building. That’s when the members will discuss committees and seat selection at the council table.

A business meeting will be held after the council assembly. During that meeting, the council members will elect one of their colleagues to serve as mayor pro tem. The mayor pro tem presides over council meetings in the absence of the mayor, Wilson is currently the mayor pro tem.

The dean of the council will also be elected. The dean presides over meetings when both the mayor and mayor pro tem are absent. Wilson is also the dean of the council.

Council members will also select which committees they will serve on.