St. Edmond students named to Opus choir

St. Edmond students in fifth through eighth grades were recently selected for participation in the 28th annual Opus Honor Choir Festival. Those students are Ashton Acree, Meghan Hanley, Cade Naughton, Ayrton Peterson, Ian Duarte, Hallie Ehn, Maggie Lennon and Maggie Strickland. They are under the direction of Nancy Blair.

St. Edmond ninth-graders Zephan O’Connor and Rachel Sherry were also selected. They are instructed by Nicole Brown.

More than 3,300 students were nominated by their directors for 720 positions in the four Opus Honor Choirs. Selections were made by means of a recorded audition. Guest conductors of the choirs include Michelle Swanson, fifth- and sixth-grade elementary honor choir; Dean Beckman, seventh- and eighth-grade bass clef honor choir; Jill Anderson, seventh- and eighth-grade treble clef honor choir; and Adam Orban, ninth-grade mixed honor choir.

The 2013 Opus Honor Choirs will perform at 4 p.m. Thursday in C.Y. Stephens Auditorium in the Iowa State Center in Ames. The Opus Honor Choir Festival is under the auspices of the Iowa Choral Directors Association Inc.