Host Algona captures own crown

ALGONA – Behind a balanced team effort, the No. 4 (Class 3A) Algona boys earned top honors at their own cross country invitational on Monday.

The Bulldogs tallied just 47 points. Fort Dodge (92) and ninth-ranked (2A) St. Edmond (115) were second and third.

No. 27 Bo Hjelle (4th, 16:34.48), Peter Hollinger (7th, 17:21.04), Adam Poeppe (9th, 17:26.25), Mason Altman (11th, 17:32.45) and Loren Shellabarger (16th, 17:41.76) were Algona’s counters.

Spencer’s sixth-ranked (3A) Ryan Bauermeister was the individual champion, clocking a winning mark of 16:20.08. Alex Jackson, rated No. 27 in 4A, turned in a runner-up effort for the Dodgers in 16:21.06.

Rounding out Fort Dodge’s scorecard were Thomas Thompson (5th, 16:45.83), Austen Read (18th, 17:44.13), Ryan Wagner (23rd, 17:55.96) and Tanner Smith (44th, 18:45.05).

“I thought our boys ran good,” FDSH head coach Tim Hanson said. “Alex came really close to catching (Bauermeister), but he just didn’t quite have enough at the end. He still came close to getting his personal best.”

“Hopefully, our guys can keep coming around and have a good home meet in 10 days (the Dodgers host their own invitational on Oct. 10).”

Jacob Hamilton (12th, 17:34.89), Casey McEvoy (13th, 17:35.33), Harrison Mayer (14th, 17:38.81), Nate Yetmar (33rd, 18:17.80) and John Eide (43rd, 18:41.34) all competed for the Gaels.

“I was pretty surprised that our boys got third,” said SEHS head coach Mike Szalat. “We haven’t been running against other 2A schools, so I’ve kind of been at a loss. We beat (No. 12) Spirit Lake, though, and saw Forest City for the first time (last night). It was good to see us get a lot closer to Fort Dodge than we were a week ago (at the Humboldt Invitational).”

Bishop Garrigan’s Zach Kollasch (22nd, 17:54.60), Humboldt’s Jake Miller (26th, 18:05.32), Webster City’s Adam McMurray (40th, 18:34.72), Eagle Grove’s Noah Stephas (28th, 18:11.26), Emmetsburg’s Nick Grandstaff (21st, 17:53.77) and Pocahontas Area’s Caleb Ricke (54th, 19:10.37) led the way for each of their schools.