10 seek school board seat

Ten Fort Dodge residents are interested in filling a vacant seat on the Fort Dodge Community School District board.

Board member Deb Peterson announced her resignation following the Sept. 10 school board election. Peterson is moving from Fort Dodge to be closer to family; board members must live in the district to serve.

Fort Dodge citizens Steve Springer, Angie Tracy, Ted Vaughn, Nik Moser, Kit Hovey and Lori Osterberg have expressed interest in the seat, as well as former election candidates John F. Williams, Randal Funchess, Troy Schroeder and Bill Offerman.

The 10 candidates will be interviewed Oct. 7 ahead of the board’s next meeting.

The board will then vote to select Peterson’s replacement.

“They’ll do all their interviews on the seventh and the new member will be inducted on the 14th,” Jennifer Lane, FDCSD director of communications, said Thursday.

No additional candidates are being sought for the position at this time.

The Fort Dodge Community School District board next meets Oct. 14 at the Central Administration Office, 104 S. 17th St.