FDSH’s Halligan an all-stater

Following standout seasons on the diamond, four Messenger-area baseball players have been named to the 2013 Iowa Newspaper Association all-state teams.

Fort Dodge’s Austin Halligan (OF), Humboldt’s Ben Jacobson (INF) and Bishop Garrigan’s John Burns (INF) and Reece Wadle (P) were all honored for their individual performances.

Halligan, a sophomore leadoff hitter, landed on the Class 4A third squad after pacing the CIC Northern Division outright champion Dodgers in hits (51), runs (41) and stolen bases (18), while batting .386 with 22 RBI. He started all 42 games without committing an error in center field.

“I think that’s a huge honor for Austin, who has been starting for two years now,” FDSH head coach Blake Utley said. “He plays extremely hard every single play, and he really stepped up for us as the season unfolded.

“It’s nice knowing we have him coming back being the catalyst that can kind of set the tone. He’s played with some good outfielders in the past, and now he’s taken the lead and become a good one himself.”

Jacobson was picked to the 3A third team. The senior third baseman recorded a .451 average at the plate with 37 hits, 30 RBI and 25 runs scored.

Burns, a senior shortstop, made the 1A second squad. He batted .398 with 49 hits, 36 runs and 31 RBI

Wadle earned a spot on the 1A third team. The sophomore ace went 7-3 with a miniscule 1.17 ERA in 66 innings of work. Wadle allowed just 43 hits and fanned 94.

Captains of the all-state teams in each of their respective classes were Sioux City East’s Dom Thompson-Williams (4A), Clear Lake’s Gavin Sheakley (3A), Dyersville Beckman’s Joey Lehmann (2A) and Mason City Newman’s Casey Hall (1A).