Three seats up for FDCSD board election

The Fort Dodge Community School District is seeking candidates to run for the school board; three seats will be available, with two incumbents seeking re-election.

Jan Merz, after serving on the school board for 24 years, will not seek re-election, thus leaving her seat on the board open.

Stuart Cochrane, board president, has served on the board for about 15 years and is weighing seeking another term.

“I’m leaning that way,” Cochrane said Wednesday. “I haven’t made that decision for certain, but I think I’m leaning that way.”

Cochrane said he enjoys working with his fellow board members, and that there is still work to be done within the district.

“The last couple of times my term has come up I have contemplated not running, but I continue to believe there’s unfinished business,” he said. “And right now we’ve got a board that works well together and I enjoy it. Unless something drastic changes over the next month it is my intent to seek another term.”

Brian Forsythe, board vice president, is also still considering running for another term. Forsythe has served on the FDCSD board for seven years.

“I hadn’t necessarily made up my decision yet,” he said Wednesday. “But the chances are very good that I am.”

Forsythe is honored to serve on the school board, he said.

“I think it’s a privilege to represent the citizens of Fort Dodge Community School District.”

As locally elected officials, board members determine educational goals, set policy and oversee school finances, among other duties and responsibilities. Members are elected to four-year terms and are not paid for their services.

Nomination papers for school board seats are available at the FDCSD central administration office at 104 S. 17th St., as well as the county auditor’s office at 701 Central Ave, in Fort Dodge.

Candidates must obtain signatures from at least 1 percent of the qualified electors of the district or 50 electors, whichever is less. The minimum is 10 signatures.

School board elections are Sept. 10, but nominations will be accepted starting July 8. Nomination papers can be filed between July 8 and Aug. 1.