AHS choir selected for state championships

ALGONA -The Algona High School inTunE jazz choir sent in an audition video for the Iowa Vocal Jazz Championships and was notified March 3 that it qualified as one of seven 3A schools accepted. The top seven auditioned choirs are selected for each class 1A, 2A, 3A and 4A. This will be Algona’s second appearance at this competition. The 2013 Iowa Vocal Jazz Championships will be held at Ballard High School in Huxley Tuesday. Qualification for acceptance was based on each choir performing three pieces of music. The choirs will be judged by a panel of seven judges.

The inTunE Jazz Choir members consist of sopranos Krystyna Diggins, Dana Haverkamp, Morgan Schonert and Joanna Wilson; altos Madi Jennings, Nicole Kenne, Bethany Laddusaw, and Maddie Roach; tenors Hunter Buscherfeld, Dayne Meyerink, and Connor Thill; and basses Austin Burton, Adam Denner, Braden Menke, and Nathan Stumme.

The inTunE rhythm section members consist of Peter Jorgenson, guitar; Loren Shellabarger, drums; Matt Stein, bass; and Kris Schonert, piano. The sound system is run by Nick Bitz. The Jazz Choir, directed by Jamie Kelley, has performed at the Iowa Lakes Community College Jazz Festival, IHSMA State Jazz Festival and the AHS Pops Concert leading up to this selection. Song selections that will be performed are: “St. Louis Blues,” “Embraceable You” and “Drive My Car.”