FDSH?speech competes at state

Five groups from Fort Dodge Senior High, 22 students total, competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association district large group speech contest on Jan. 19.

Four of the groups received Division I ratings to advance to state: Solo mime, group improvisation, choral reading and radio broadcasting. The second improvisational team received a Division II rating.

Lindey Krug, speech coach, said, “I was very pleased with how we performed at district. I hope my students came away from the experience proud of their accomplishments.”

Members of the four qualifying groups competed at the state contest on Feb. 2. All four groups received Division II ratings.

Students participating in large group speech included: Abee Armstrong, Madeline Ascherl, Michaela Beckman, Ian Brown, Ayenna Cagaanen, Stefan Crowl, Keegan Gormally, Tim Hatton, Grant Hendrix, Ramsha Khan, Jay Laupp, Ethan Ledeboer, Hannah Lenning, Emma Reeves, Sarah Rethwisch and Raelinn Spears.