Gaels host SE duals

The ninth-ranked (Class 1A) St. Edmond wrestling team will compete five times on their home mats this afternoon, as the Gaels host their own dual tournament for the 18th time.

Action begins at 10 a.m. on three mats. Five rounds of duals will take place throughout the day, with the best overall record being crowned meet champions.

St. Edmond (3-5 overall) enters as the lone ranked team, and boasts three of the nine rated individuals. Joining SEHS will be AGWSR, Boone, Prairie Valley, Roland-Story and West Hancock.

“We need the mat time that a five-round dual tournament offers,” SEHS head coach Tanner Utley said. “We have guys that didn’t get a lot of practice in over the break, and I’m anxious to get them out on the mats and see what they need to work on the most.”

Leading the way for the Gaels is top-ranked and unbeaten 220-pounder Vinnie Harvey. Junior Kaden McClintock is fifth at 113 pounds, while senior Teddie Harvey is fourth at 152.

McClintock and Teddie Harvey – who owns a career record of 114-26 – also sport unblemished marks this year.

“I want to see everyone control the tempo for six minutes,” Utley said. “(Thursday night) we didn’t do that. We’d have a match in control and let it slip away in the third.”

West Hancock, who the Gaels will tangle with in round three, feature four rated individuals. Ryder Clark is sixth at 170, Gunnar Clark is fifth at 182, Kevin Tlach is 10th at 220 and Chris Schleuger is second at heavyweight.

Schlueger placed fourth at state a year ago and is one of eight wrestlers expected to compete with perfect records. Six returning state qualifiers and two more district qualifiers are also in the field.

Prairie Valley’s Matt Streit is sixth at 195 in 1A, while Clay Meinders of AGWSR is ninth in the same weight.

Kane Springis from Boone is ninth in 3A.

Clarion-Goldfield, which earned its fourth consecutive duals title a year ago, has opted out of the tournament and will be competing in Ames at the Jack Mendenhall Invitational. Boone takes the place of the Cowboys to complete the six-team field.